llemarie’s weblog

Programming, tinkering – Lionel Lemarié

Projects: Fixed my boots

Posted by llemarie on October 14, 2007

Exciting! I fixed my boots.

I’ve been a walking fashion faux-pas for weeks now, since a metal plate broke at the back of my boots then fell off altogether. We couldn’t have that. New Rock was kind enough to send me a set of replacement plates and rivets with no instructions to take the broken plate off and put the new one in.

The solution: walk about with the broken plate hanging until a piece falls off a few months later and use brute force to pry the remaining bits off. Of course, I should have thought about it before: nothing beats brute force.

After that it took me weeks to finally get my act together and replace the thing. I had to learn how to use a rivet machine – I had to buy a rivet machine. Scary. The whole thing took 10 minutes.

Pixels on flickr.

4 Responses to “Projects: Fixed my boots”

  1. EdwarD said

    Hi Lionel!

    I have the same problem with my boots, but i can’t find any place to buy new plate parts. Can you help me with this please? Also where did you buy that rivet machine?

    PS: Sorry for my english, i’ve never learned it.

  2. llemarie said

    Hi EdwarD,

    I contacted New Rock customer support and they kindly sent me replacement plates and rivets.

    I bought the rivet machine at a DIY store. Any shop that sells hammers and drills is bound to sell rivet machines too.

    Good luck!
    Lionel.

  3. Robyn said

    since your are the only person who i can find that talks about actually doing something to fix your new rocks, got a question for you. how did you contact the new rock customer support? i have been to there website and i cant get anything from there.

  4. llemarie said

    Hi Robyn,

    I contacted newrock at newrock.es (I found the contact address somewhere on their website).

    Regards,
    Lionel.

Leave a Reply

 
